I know pretty much next to nothing about photography. All I know is that these photographs just blew me away.

I came by the original article on Fstoppers, here’s the link to The Cinematic Look – How To Make Your Photographs Look Like Films | Fstoppers.

fstoppers_cinematic_davidgeffin_7
A shot by Andrew Mohrer, more of his work here.

I really like the colours with the vibrant sparks, the reddish tone, and the yellow hard-hats. It could be part of a advertising campaign of engineers hard at work on regular maintenance. At least that’s the story in my head. This feels real to me.

fstoppers_cinematic_davidgeffin_3
Another one by Andrew Mohrer.

As I was scrolling, this was the first photo that blew me away. It feels like it was shot in a movie, which is probably why they call it the ‘cinematic look’. If there were no people in the shot, this could fit into an apocalyptic/zombie movie easy.

fstoppers_cinematic_challenge_davidgeffin_dennis3
A shot by Dennis Cacho, you can see more of his work here.

I think it’s a little bit too blue/neutral (?) for my taste. But definitely cinematic. Could it be the framing?

fstoppers_cinematic_challenge_davidgeffin_dennis2_0
Another shot by Dennis Cacho.

This is another one that feels real to meI wish I could take photographs like this. The colour, everything. I like it.

Again, the link to the Fstoppers article where I stumbled onto these photographs, which also teaches how to take similar ‘cinematic’ photographs, here at The Cinematic Look – How To Make Your Photographs Look Like Films | Fstoppers.

Leave a Reply

